Why is Nintendo Releasing Another Variant of the Nintendo 3DS?

Nintendo has announced yet another variant of the Nintendo 3DS, for some reason.

 

Last week, Nintendo announced the New Nintendo 2DS XL out of nowhere; literally at almost 10pm EST with no indication that it was coming. Nintendo has released so many variants of the Nintendo 3DS at this point that it’s hard to keep up with them all. All you really need to know about the New Nintendo 2DS XL is that it’s the same thing as the New Nintendo 3DS XL except it doesn’t have the 3D feature. The Nintendo 2DS was originally released as a cheaper alternative to the Nintendo 3DS so it’s basically the same principle here. I’m just curious why this thing even exists.

console.png

The biggest selling point to the Nintendo 2DS was that, in spite of its terrible design, it was significantly cheaper than any other Nintendo 3DS. The New Nintendo 2DS XL is cheaper, lacks the completely unnecessary 3D element and isn’t a stupid brick so it’s the superior option; but it feels unnecessary. If I hadn’t just bought a New Nintendo 3DS XL last year I’d have bought the New Nintendo 2DS XL because there’s really no reason not to. The only thing that makes sense here is that Nintendo is finally ditching its stupid 3D gimmick and will just cancel the line of Nintendo 3DS systems entirely, which has taken far too long. And if that’s going to be the case then hasta la vista, baby.

switch.jpg

The other indication from this is that Nintendo is not ditching its handhelds in favor of the Nintendo Switch. When the Switch released last year, many people speculated that it would become Nintendo’s sole platform. Announcing a brand new variant of the 3DS is a pretty clear indication that’s not going to happen. Personally, I’ve never been on board with that premise and I’m glad to see that it doesn’t look like it’s going down like that. While the Switch is portable, it’s not the same as handheld.

kids.jpg

When I go out and I bring my 3DS, I can slip that thing right into my pocket and it’s perfectly fine. If I want to take my Switch somewhere, I not only have to carry it in a protective case but I need a bag to keep it in. If you try and tell me that those two things are the same, you’re wrong. I just think Nintendo’s handheld market is too good and different to just merge it into the Switch like they’re one in the same. Whatever’s going on here, ditching 3D and/or killing the idea of merging the 3DS and the Switch, I love it.

The New Nintendo 2DS XL releases on July 28, 2017 at $149.99.

 

@Sixchr

2 thoughts on “Why is Nintendo Releasing Another Variant of the Nintendo 3DS?”

Leave a Reply

