Crash Bandicoot Can Save Spyro the Dragon

Help me, Crash Bandicoot, you’re my only hope.

 

Last Friday, the Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy released. This isn’t just your run of the mill remaster with updated graphics, this is a full on remake. The classic trilogy was completely remade from the ground up by Naughty Dog. Crash Bandicoot is one of Playstation’s most iconic series and a remake/remaster was in heavy demand for a long time. I haven’t really gotten to sink my teeth into it yet but from what I’ve played so far, the game is exactly what people wanted.

Crash.jpg

The N. Sane Trilogy captures everything that was great about Crash Bandicoot while making the game look absolutely gorgeous and it’s everything that a remake should be. Outside of an apparent change to the jumping mechanic, everything about the game feels just like the originals did in the 90s and it’s almost like stepping into a time machine. When the N. Sane Trilogy was announced, I had high hopes that my nostalgia would be rewarded and Naughty Dog delivered. Apparently I’m not the only one that feels this way either because I’ve seen quite a bit of chatter that the game has been incredibly difficult to find in stores over the weekend. And all of this is good news for Crash’s buddy, Spyro the Dragon.

return home.jpg

When I think way back to when I got into gaming, it was two franchises; Crash Bandicoot and Spyro the Dragon. As much as I love Crash Bandicoot, no series will ever tickle my heart more than the original Spyro the Dragon trilogy. As Spyro games have continued to release and gotten further away from the model of the original games, I have badly wanted a remake of the original trilogy and I don’t think I’m alone. Much like Crash Bandicoot fans, Spyro the Dragon fans have been clamoring for a remake of their classic Playstation series. The announcement of a full remake for Crash Bandicoot was the exact thing that fans of Spyro the Dragon needed; hope that a series remake has a chance of being made. If Crash Bandicoot could succeed with a remaster, why couldn’t his 90s buddy do the same?

crash spyro.jpg

The N. Sane Trilogy might be the last hope for Spyro the Dragon. Naughty Dog hit a grand slam with its remake and people have received it well. Crash and Spyro were practically Playstation’s mascots and were paired together in the 90s and early 2000s, whether it be secret demos on the menu screen or full on crossover games. Now, one can save the other.

From my experience, fans of one series were always fans of the other. Crash and Spyro were one and the same. Perhaps Playstation can now look at the success of a Crash Bandicoot remake and realize that a Spyro the Dragon remake could do just as well. Spyro the Dragon is my all time favorite game series and I can’t explain how badly I want it to be remade. Please Playstation, do it for us.

 

P.S. Don’t use his weird frog design from Skylanders.

 

@Sixchr

Leave a Reply

